Petit Theft Florida First Time Offender | Petit Theft in Florida
Florida Statute 812.014 and its subsections clearly identify what constitutes Petit Theft in Florida. The two titles of this article are Petit Theft Florida First Time Offender, and Petit Theft in Florida because these are common search terms for defendants accused of committing a crime or crimes, and we want you to be able to obtain the legal help you need to reduce or eliminate the charges brought against you. Now, let’s get to the heart of the matter by further analyzing the wording and the practical applications of the Statute.
Florida’s Petty Theft Statute | Petit Theft Statute
According to F.S. 812.014, if the property stolen by the alleged criminal is valued at more than one-hundred dollars ($100.00), and less that three-hundred dollars ($300.00), this is considered to be first degree Petit Theft, which is the crime committed by a Petit Theft Florida first time offender. The theft of property valued at less than one-hundred dollars ($100.00), is generally considered to be a second-degree misdemeanor with reduced penalties, but it is nonetheless something you DO NOT want on your record.
The Statute continues to spell out what happens if the accused has committed Petit Theft before and has been convicted once, twice, or several times. If a person has committed Petit Theft in Florida and has already been accused and convicted of theft, thereby commits a first-degree misdemeanor. A criminal defendant who has two or more convictions for any theft and then who commits a Petit Theft, commits a third-degree felony, which comes with significantly higher punishments if convicted. In cases where the potential punishments are high and your liberty may be at stake, consider hiring a Lake County Florida Criminal Defense Attorney and/or a Lake County Florida Criminal Lawyer to aggressively defend you.
Lake County Florida Criminal Defense Attorney: Lake County Florida Criminal Lawyer
Petit Theft in Florida takes place every day. For example, shoplifters steal steaks, candies, cell-phone equipment or other electronics, groceries, and the list continues ad nauseam. If you are a Petit Theft Florida first time offender, it is possible you were caught at stores such as Publix, Walmart, or Target, and the store(s) wish to prosecute to prevent the commission of additional Petit Theft in Florida. In essence, if you believe you need legal help, call a Lake County Florida Criminal Defense Attorney, Lake County Florida Criminal Lawyer, today to protect yourself against a harsh punishment.
In many ways, people searching for information about the laws in Florida are similar to people looking on the internet for medical diagnoses on WebMD or similar sites. A huge difference is that Florida laws such as for Petit Theft in Florida, are Florida-specific because our State governs itself by the laws of the Florida Legislature and as interpreted by our courts. Jonathan Jacobs of the Jacobs Law Firm, is a Lake County Florida Criminal Defense Attorney and a Lake County Florida Criminal Lawyer.